Important Landlord-Tenant Laws in Georgia
As a landlord, you’re responsible for being aware of any landlord-tenant laws in your state before anyone signs a lease; otherwise, you risk experiencing an altercation at some point in the renting process. If you’re aware of the laws, however, you can easily alleviate this worry. In this article, we’ll focus on a few of the most important landlord-tenant laws in Georgia.
The Georgia Fair Housing Act protects individuals across several demographics. These include:
Landlords are prohibited from doing the following:
- Saying an empty home is not available for sale or rent
- Trying to influence clients against moving into a specific neighborhood or unit
- Offering different offers and privileges to different clients
- Refusing to rent or sell a home
Nationally, any landlord is legally required to inform a tenant of any lead-based paint hazards in any building built before 1978. Disclosures unique to Georgia include:
- A landlord must truthfully respond to all questions presented by a potential buyer pertaining to any crimes or deaths that occurred on the property. This includes murders, natural deaths, suicides, and any felonies.
- A landlord must present a tenant with a written list of any damages that currently exist on the property. The tenant also has the right to conduct an inspection, which must end with a document signed both by the tenant and the landlord.
- If the property presents a great risk of flooding, or if it has experienced flood damage three times within the last five years, the landlord has the responsibility to present the tenant with a written notice that the property may flood.
No law in Georgia states a limit for the dollar amount of a security deposit—this is completely up to the landlord’s discretion. When a tenant moves out, the landlord must inspect the home within three days in order to legally withhold any of the security deposit. They may take a deduction for any unpaid bills or damages done to the property, but they must also provide a written list of these deductions within three days of the end of the lease. The landlord will have 30 days from the move-out date to return the deposit.
Active Service Members
A U.S. service member has the right to terminate their lease if they receive an assignment over 35 miles away from the property. They must notify the landlord of this fact 30 days in advance.
There are several rules you should be aware of regarding your rights and the rights of your tenant, and you can better navigate these if you partner with the right property management company. Experienced professionals will work with you to make sure you properly practice all standards. For the best Buford property management company, contact Excalibur Homes today.